Board of Directors

Landsvirkjun’s Board is appointed by the Minister of Finance, at the company’s Annual General Meeting, held before the end of April each year. The Board is responsible for Landsvirkjun’s finances and operations.

The CEO of Landsvirkjun is Hörður Arnarson, who in collaboration with the Board is responsible for the day to day administration of the company. Landsvirkjun’s Board of Directors sets out its procedural regulations in accordance with the provisions of Article 7 of the Act on Landsvirkjun.

The current Board of Directors were appointed at the company’s Annual General Meeting April 30 2024.

  • Chairman of the Board

    Jón Björn Hákonarson

    Jón Björn was born in 1973 and resides in Norðfjörður in Fjarðabyggð. He was first elected to the Board in 2014 and has served as Vice Chairman for five years from 2014 to 2024. Jón Björn is the President of the Municipal Council of Fjarðabyggð as councillor on behalf of The Progressive Party.

  • Vice-chairman

    Jens Garðar Helgason

    Jens Garðar was born in 1976 and resides in Eskifjörður. He joined the Board in 2024 and currently serves as the vice chairman. Jens Garðar studied business studies at the University of Iceland from 1997 to 2000 and received an Executive MBA from the Norwegian School of Economics. He is the Deputy CEO of Kaldvík, a salmon farming company. Before that, Jens Garðar served as the CEO of Laxa, a fish farming company, and the Managing Director of Fiskimið.

  • Board Member

    Álfheiður Ingadóttir

    Álfheiður Ingadóttir was born in 1951 and resides in Reykjavík. She was elected to the Board in 2014, following her role as a representative of Reykjavík City on the Board from 2003 to 2006. Álfheiður, a biologist by profession, is also an auxiliary member of the Board of the Left-Green Movement in Iceland. Her political career includes being a member of the Icelandic Parliament for the party from 2007 to 2013, Minister of Health from 2009 to 2010, and a party whip from 2012 to 2013.

  • Board Member

    Gunnar Tryggvason

    Gunnar was born in 1969 and resides in Reykjavík. He was elected to the Board in 2018. He holds a B.Sc. in electrical engineering and an M.Sc. in electrical engineering. Gunnar is the CEO of Faxaports. He served as a Senior Manager at KPMG Advisory from 2009 to 2018. Gunnar was a Director of Corporate Finance at Landsbankinn and CFO at Enex hf.

  • Board Member

    Soffía Björk Guðmundsdóttir

    Soffía Björk was born in 1962 and resides in Reykjavík. She was elected to the Board in 2022. Soffía Björk graduated in business administration and holds a B.Sc. in chemistry, an M.Sc. in environmental engineering, and an MBA from Oxford University. She is the Executive Secretary of PAME, one of six international Arctic Council working groups. Furthermore, Soffía Björk is on the faculty of law at the University of Akureyri, teaching polar law.

Deputies to the Board

  • Lilja Einarsdóttir
  • Ragnar Óskarsson
  • Halldór Karl Högnason
  • Sigurjón Þórðarson
  • Albertína Friðbjörg Elíasdóttir